Two more UP assembly constituencies reserved for schedule tribes

Written By kom nampultig on Selasa, 14 Januari 2014 | 07.20

NEW DELHI: Uttar Pradesh will now have two assembly constituencies - Obra and Duddhi - reserved for scheduled tribes, while the number of its assembly seats reserved for scheduled castes will go down from 85 to 84. As per an Election Commission order issued under the Readjustment of Representation of SC and ST in Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies (Third) Ordinance, 2013, the Delimitation Order of 2008 stands amended in respect of Uttar Pradesh, with Duddhi being shifted from SC category to ST category, and Obra from general category to ST category.

There is no change in reservation status of other assembly seats or any parliamentary seat in Uttar Pradesh. The EC order, notified on Monday, followed its December 5 proposal to redetermine the seats reserved for SC/ST in UP in line with census figures, 2001, followed by holding of public sittings across Varanasi, Saharanpur, Jhansi to hear complaints and objections to the proposal.

Both Duddhi and Obra are located in the Sonbhadra district. As per 2001 census figures, Duddhi has 38.24% STs and Obra 18.93% STs. The major demographic change has much to do with shifting of 10 tribes from the SC list to ST category between 2001 and 2010.

EC had initially proposed wider changes to the 2008 delimitation order with respect to UP. Apart from proposing to reserve Duddhi and Obra for STs, the Commission sought to de-reserve Robertsganj(SC) parliamentary constituency, while proposing SC status for Mirzapur Lok Sabha seat. Among the assembly constituencies for which a profile change was proposed were Saharanpur (to be reserved for SCs), Mehroni (SC) (to be dereserved), Salempur(SC) (to be dereserved), Barhaj (to be reserved for SCs), Saidpur (SC) (to be dereserved) and Ghorawal (to be reserved for SCs).

As per the notification relating to EC order amending Schedule II and Schedule XXVIII of the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008, Robertsganj(SC) parliamentary constituency would comprise the assembly segments of Chakia(SC), Ghorawal, Robertsganj, Obra(ST) and Duddhi (ST).

Anda sedang membaca artikel tentang

Two more UP assembly constituencies reserved for schedule tribes

Dengan url

Anda boleh menyebar luaskannya atau mengcopy paste-nya

Two more UP assembly constituencies reserved for schedule tribes

namun jangan lupa untuk meletakkan link

Two more UP assembly constituencies reserved for schedule tribes

sebagai sumbernya

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar Techie Blogger Techie Blogger